Posts From August, 2023

Knockout Cup Competition 2023

The knockout Cup was held at the Delph Tavern on 29th August 2023 with four teams competing.  The results were as follows:

Semi Final 1 - Star Inn (4) v Bryn Labour Club (18) Semi Final 2 - Delphic Horses (0) v Millstone (8)
Home F A Away
Star Inn
Bill Gerard 20
Peter Duffy 17
53 55 Bryn Labour Club
Debbie Davidson 17
Star Inn    
Home F A Away
Delphic Horses
Mike Unsworth 15
Gary Grant 20
Paul McAteer 14
58 48 Millstone
Mike Simpson 15
Geoff Penney 11 
Plate Final - Millstone (8) v Star Inn (4) Cup Final - Delphic Horses (0) v Bryn Labour Club (18)
Home F A Away
Ian Barlow 18
Mike Leech 16
Mike Simpson 10
58 36 Star Inn
Tony Spark 12
Home F A Away
Delphic Horses
Gary Grant 17
36 63 Bryn Labour Club
Debbie Davidson 17
Tony Robinson 11
Keith Eyre 10

Many congratulations to Bryn Labour Club and Millstone on their convincing wins. Also many thanks to Ian, Chris and Bill for setting the quizzes and all those who helped officiate the games.

Cup Competition

The Orrell QL cup competition will take place on Tuesday 29th August, at the Delph Tavern  starting at 8pm sharp. The matches will be played under timing conditions in order to get the matches played in sufficient time. The matches will be handicapped, the handicaps calculated by Graham Wilcock (Treasurer) and based on the final league standings, are as follows :-

Delphic Horses   0

Star Inn.            4

Millstone            8

Merrymen          10

Bryn Labour       18


The order of play is:-

Preliminary Round:-  A.  Star Inn v Merrymen

Semi finals:-   B.    Bryn Labour v Winner A

                        C      Millstone v Delphic Horses

If time permits we will run a Plate final as well. 

Plate final :-        Loser A v Highest scoring loser from B or C

Final :-                  Winner B v Winner C


2023 Champions

After a title-deciding match that the Delphic Horses needed to win to take the title, The Cricketers won to take their first title since 2017 (when they were still UCC Blues).  They also won the Handicap League, again beating Delphic Horses into second place.